Baby in Tokyo


Outing to Akabane

Yesterday afternoon we took the bus to Akabane (also in northern Tokyo) to shop for a few things, mostly for the house. We went to the Daiso there. For dinner we were trying to decide between sushi and tempura, and went with sushi. Baby lunged for a plate and almost got his first taste of wasabi.

Baby versus Dad

I felt frustrated when Baby wouldn't eat much of his dinner (rice porridge with shirasu fish, carrots, and banana). He wanted out of his Bumbo shortly after starting eating, which I obliged him, but then he lost interest in the food. Question: When should kids learn to sit through a meal?

Baby is definitely more confident in "crusing." He sees a fork or a spoon across the table (kotatsu) from him, and shuffles his feet, moving around each corner to reach the object of his desire. I had to take the plate and spoon away, lifting it off the table. We both gave each other knowning smiles.

When Baby was in the bath with Mom, leaving me to a few minutes of quiet, I thought to myself, "When is that kid going to learn to pick up his toys?"